The many gifts of God

Brothers and Sisters whom I find
So different and Other than me and my kind
In race and tongues
In worldviews and embedded ideologies
In social standings and stratas
In deeply valued positions
In identity-forming narratives
In social and theological constructs;

In Your eyes I want to look so much deeper;
I want to hear Your stories
I want to hear Your hopes and dreams
I want to hear Your voice.

Because more and more
I am seeing that before your Face
I stand on holy ground before God
Whose many gifts live
And wait for my finding,
In You so different from me

Because through our communion in God’s Spirit
We hear the many tongues of Pentecost,
We see us together at the table of Jesus,
We together, receive the many gifts of God.

Leave a Reply

